Stay Informed Stay Ahead


Suryakumar Yadav Joins Rohit Sharma, Maxwell In List Of Players With Most T20I Centuries

Associated Press

IND vs SA 3rd T20I: Team India’s stand-in captain, Suryakumar Yadav has added another feather to his cap as he registered yet another T20I century in the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. With another century knock, Suryakumar Yadav has equalled Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell’s records of Players with the most T20I centuries.

The batter scored a magnificent 55-ball 100 against South Africa in the third T20I at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. He not only saved the team from the top-order debacle but also took the team to a dominating total, and ensured India doesn’t lose the do-or-die fixture.

During his century knock against South Africa, Suryakumar Yadav tonked eight maximums along with seven boundaries. His overall strike rate clocked 178.57.

This was his fourth century in the T20Is and his first as the captain of the Indian team. He has previously scored centuries in the format against Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand. With a total of four T20I centuries, Suryakumar Yadav is now tied with seasoned opener Rohit Sharma and Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell in the elite list of players with the most T20I centuries.

All the three aforementioned players have amassed four centuries apiece in the format. Below are the details of the record:

No Player Country T20I Centuries Innings Runs Scored
01 Rohit Sharma India 04 140 3853
= Glenn Maxwell Australia 04 92 2275
= Suryakumar Yadav India  04 57 2141
04 Babar Azam Pakistan 03 98 3485
= S Davizi Czech Republic 03 31 1149
= Colin Munro New Zealand 03 62 1724
*As of December 14, 2023.

IND vs SA 3rd T20I: Suryakumar Yadav leads India to victory

IND vs SA 3rd T20I: Suryakumar Yadav joins Rohit Sharma, Maxwell in list of Players with Most T20I Centuries
AFP/Getty Image

Riding on the back of a sensational century off the skipper’s blade, Team India posted a colossal 201-run target for the Proteas. Besides Yadav, opener Yashasvi Jaiswal played 60 run knock in 41 delivers and aided Team India to post a big total.

South Africa had a herculean task in front of them and the players couldn’t absorb the pressure. The Indians removed South African openers cheaply and kept building pressure.

Middle-order batter David Miller ended the game with the highest run scorer for South Africa with just 25 runs knock. While none of the other batters could produce a substantial effort to hunt the 201-run target.

Wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav clinched five wickets in the game and helped Team India reduce South Africa to a scanty score of 95 runs in just 13.5 overs. Team India won the contest by 106 runs and levelled the three-match T20I series 1-1.

ALSO READ: IND vs RSA: Mohammad Shami is likely to be ruled out of the South Africa Test series

For more details, head to ICC’s official website.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *